The Institute for Strategic Dialogue is registered as a charitable company limited by guarantee (registered charity number 1141069, registered company number 06581421) and was established by a Memorandum of Association on 30 April 2008.

You can view all Annual Returns for ISD on the Charity Commission for England and Wales website and on the Companies House website.

The Institute for Strategic Dialogue US (ISD US) is a non-political, not-for-profit corporation registered in the District of Columbia with 501(c)(3) status. It was formed with Articles of Incorporation on 19 August 2009. Whilst the two entities are legally separate, a majority of Board members sit on both boards so that decisions can be taken collectively. You can search for ISD US using tax identification number 27-1282489.

The Institute for Strategic Dialogue gGmbH (ISD Germany) is registered with the companies’ registrar in Berlin, registration AG Berlin-Charlottenburg HRB 207 328B. It was formed on 19 February 2019 with a Deed and Articles of Association and began operations in 2020. The Managing Directors are Huberta von Voss and Sarah Kennedy.

The Institute for Strategic Dialogue France (ISD France) is a legal entity under the status of Association de loi 1901, a status granted to not-for-profit organisations across a range of sectors.

Until 2016, the Institute for Strategic Dialogue was operated through The Trialogue Educational Trust, a sister charity with registered charity number 1076660. Since 2017, all work relating to extremism, hate and disinformation has been delivered from the charitable company.

Board Members

    Michael Lewis (Chair)
    Stuart Fiertz (Treasurer)
    Mark Bergman
    Dr. Serra Kirdar
    Ed Williams
    Francis Finlay
    Lord Adair Turner (Chair, Policy Board)

    Karl-Theodor zu Guttenberg
    Jim Hoagland
    Farah Pandith
    Shirley Lord Rosenthal

    Wolfram von Fritsch
    Christoph Gottschalk
    Cecilie Rohwedder
    Katrin Rohmann
    Dr. Evelyn Stern
    Dominik Wichmann

  • International Advisory Council

    Prof. Dr. h.c. Roland Berger
    Dilwar Hussain
    Jytte Klausen
    Hella Pick CBE
    Magnus Ranstorp